Review : Clio Tension Lip in no.12 Butter Kiss

Clio Tension Lip 1

This lipstick! I’ve wanted to try this lipstick for a long time but only ordered one now. It looked really promising, based on all the reviews I read about it.

I’m not much a fan of bright lipsticks, so I bought this in the shade that seemed like the type I usually like— no. 12 Butter Kiss. It looked promising, a natural light pink coral… but when I finally received it and wore it, I really didn’t like it. For some reason, it really leans orange on me, almost into duck-lips territory. The color seems accurate enough to the online swatch, but I just think it looks really odd on me. I even tried it on my mom, who has really fair, pink toned skin (I have fair, olive-neutral skin that leans yellow) and it also looks almost too orangey on her. I’m not sure how that happens, as in the tube and swatched on my arm, it looks fine.

Clio Tension Lip 2

Nevertheless, I keep on wearing this as the color is not so bad as to be unwearable, but I hope that if I wear it more, I’ll get used to this. I think I would have done better with shade no.11 Honey Blossom but I don’t know if I’ll ever get around to buying it ^^;

The formula is okay, but like how other reviewers have said all over the internet, the lighter shades of this lipstick can accentuate fine lines and dry patches. It looks okay though, but that’s just a thought to keep in mind if you want this and have dry lips. It also kind of feels like this lipstick goes on a little thick, but it’s not too much of a problem. It isn’t totally drying, but it isn’t particularly moisturizing either, and leaves a sort of satin finish behind. It does live up to its claims though, that it is highly pigmented. It was able to lay down a nice opaque swatch of color with just one swipe.

In all, I think this is a decent lipstick. I would have liked it even more if I had the right shade, but that’s my fault, and not the lipstick. The packaging is pretty and professional (I think I prefer this packaging to MAC lipsticks, which are nearly twice as expensive. It feels and looks more luxurious in my opinion) and the formula is quite good. Just make sure to get the shade that works for you ^^ I bought mine at Jolse.com for around $11.88 USD. Find it here.

For the formula, pigmentation, and packaging, I give this lipstick 5 hearts out of 5~ ^^

❤❤❤❤❤

Thanks for reading!

❤ raindrop ❤

Leave a comment